AdGuard app and Cliqz browser

Tribulatio

As mentioned in another post, I am new to AdGuard: I have been testing it for three days on my Mac. I have downloaded and installed the app

Today, I have only opened Cliqz browser. I have noticed something puzzling: while with other browsers I do constantly see an increase in the number of ads and trackers being blocked (more than 14,000 trackers blocked in two days with Chrome and Firefox), today there has not been a single tracker or ad blocked. Not even one...

What does it mean (again, I am not yet very familiar with the way AdGuard works):

1) AdGuard does not see what happens with Cliqz, and thus cannot have any control of impact on it?

2) Cliqz does such a good job by itself before Cliqz can do anything that somebody using Cliqz browser does not need AdGuard?

I thank you in advance for clarifications / explanations.

Boo Berry

Moderator + Beta Tester
Same thing here as with Opera Neon and my newest reply applies to Cliqz browser too - it's not included in AG for Mac's default filtered applications list, so for the time being just manually add it to the filtered applications list (like with Opera Neon). I'll also post this to the GitHub tracker to request Cliqz browser to be added to the default filtered applications list.

https://forum.adguard.com/index.php?threads/still-no-support-for-opera-neon.27845/#post-163926

Tribulatio

Excellent! Thank you very much. Added.

Interestingly, while I do now see trackers being blocked, still Cliqz seems to have less of them than other browsers. But I have to use it longer for being able to compare.

I should say that Cliqz is a quite attractive browser. It is fast, doesn't freeze like some other secure browsers. Pleasant to use.

Tribulatio

I have just bought a lifetime license for my main Mac: AdGuard is really worth it. I may buy it for my other Macs, if my use is convincing enough.