BT Yahoo! Mail 'sponsored ads'

Discussion in 'Missed Ads' started by JohnR., Sep 10, 2016.

1. JohnR.

JohnR. New Member

If any Adguard user of BT Yahoo! Mail has succeeded in totally and permanently blocking 'sponsored' adverts I'd dearly like to have full details of settings.

I'm new to Adguard and, as a 'senior citizen' on my own (London, UK), am unfamiliar with much jargon, such as 'scripts'. (I vividly remember MS-DOS and have a desktop only, but am otherwise more-or-less up-to-date, e.g. with Windows 10 Pro on a pretty fast pc.) As best I can I ignore all 'social media' (Twitter, Facebook, YouTube...) but really rely on e-mail to be efficiently dedicated -- but only to e-mail!

The ads that irritate present themselves in two guises: at the head of each displayed e-mail folder, as 'Editor's Picks' (YouTube) and suchlike; and to the right of each e-mail text, where an ad masks a significant part of the e-mail text, and clicking it 'off' lasts only a few seconds before it comes back.

2. Gass

Gass Member

Hi John,

Over here in the US, Yahoo mail ads can be cumbersome as well in disturbing to one's peace of thought.
    If my Adguard is disabled I know exactly what advertisements your talking about.
    You didn't say if your using the Adguard for Windows program or that of an Adguard browser extension.
    Since you've posted in the Adguard for Widows thread lets go with the thinking you've installed AG for Windows.
    By the way welcome aboard too.

Adguard should be blocking all the ads your exposed to when viewing yahoo mail. Do you have any other site where ads
    are bombarding your surfing too?