Do You Whitelist Google Ads?

Discussion in 'Discussion (AdGuard for Windows)' started by AnthonyG, Feb 2, 2015.

1. AnthonyG

AnthonyG Member

I have been using Adguard for about 6 months now. In the last month or so I am seeing ads frequently on Google websites. On Youtube there is big banner ads, and the video adverts playing before videos start.

On Gmail there are adverts too. Its been annoying me and I was planning on asking for help.

I am using the latest version of adguard with everything enabled except parental controls.

Today I read this

http://www.myce.com/news/google-and...eloper-for-whitelisting-advertisements-74707/

This is making me suspicious. Do Adguard whitelist Google too? And if not why is it google ads are showing when I am using Adguard?

I am using Chrome x64 on Windows 8.1 x64.

2. Boo Berry

Boo Berry Moderator + Beta Tester Moderator

Do you have the "Show useful ads" feature enabled (open Adguard's options and click the Settings button)? Also, do you have the Adguard Assistant enabled? If so, do you see the Assistant on Google pages? Google ads are blocked by default here.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2015
  3. AnthonyG

AnthonyG Member

I do not see the assistant (the green circle at the bottom right of the page) on any google page. And especially when ads are showing on them. But when I go to other sites like IMDB its there.

So something seems off on my settings I think for google.

*Edit* I have turned off the enable useful adds. The green circle is still not showing on Google pages, and ads are still there on Youtube on exiting and going back into my browser and going there :(

*Edit 2* I did it a second time and now the green circle is showing in Youtube and Gmail. So am not sure if this now means its fixed.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2015
  4. Boo Berry

Can you verify that "Show useful ads" is unchecked? Thanks!