How does the HTTPS filter work?

Discussion in 'Discussion (AdGuard for Windows)' started by hkaiieal, Jul 18, 2014.

1. hkaiieal

hkaiieal Beta Tester

Hi, I am fairly new to Adguard and I noticed that it has an option to filter on HTTPS. Can you give me more information (technical) on how this works as trying it out I see the CA of the sites are changed to Adguard.

Thanks

2. Nameless

Nameless Beta Tester

Hi, because all your data is intercepted by adguard to stop the ads then at the moment your going to be forced to use the adguard security certificate unless you disable adguard. They have said however that you are going to change this is the future in case you feel this is not safe so that you can use the sites security certificate over theirs to give you peace and mind. I have no dates when this is happening, but i remember seeing this when someone else asked about this.

Dont worry though your details should be safe =) Ive been suing it no issues yet.

3. hkaiieal

hkaiieal Beta Tester

Does this mean that after adguard intercepted the https data and filtered the ads out, it get re-encrypted using adguard private key before displaying to the user's browser. I was hoping the developer could shed some light into this matter and be as transparent as possible. For my peace of mind (and possibly others).

4. Nameless

Nameless Beta Tester

I'll be honest with you i dont know and you will have to wait for avatar to respond or maybe boo berry knows.

I do remember someone asking about this but i just can not find the thread at moment or im remembering things wrong. Anyway, if avatar is not on today or tomorrow he might be sometime on monday and should answer your question.

5. Boo Berry

Boo Berry Moderator + Beta Tester Moderator