Local proxy mode not working

excy

I prefer to use adguard for android in local proxy mode as I have other VPN services I want to connect to, and I have been doing so for several years. Not rooted, so yes I have to add proxy settings each time I connect to a new wifi.

It seems with the current version with local proxy mode is not working though, and I've tested with v3.4 nightly 7 (23) too and that does not work.

To test I've turned off mobile data, double and triple checked my proxy settings on the wifi, only 1 wifi network and this is a fresh reinstall of Android. Local proxy mode enabled in adguard and while testing I can see the counters for "ads blocked" do not increase and the pages show adverts. I do see entries in the filtering log, but that seems to have no effect on the view in Chrome.

I'm using an Xperia 5, with Android 10 security patch Jan 1 2020. It was showing the same behaviour with earlier versions of Android 10 too.

When I flip to VPN mode and turn off the proxy settings in my wifi settings pages start to look blocked again and the counters in adguard increase as usual.

And ideas?

Chinaski

Quality Assurance
Staff member
Administrator
@excy
Hello there!

Then let’s do the following:
- AdGuard > Settings > Advanced > Logging Level > Record All.
- Reproduce your issue.
- Note the time the error occurred and let us know.
- Don’t forget to return to the default logging level.
- Logs can be sent to me at PM or on k.gretskyi@adguard.com

excy

@Chinaski - so after reproducing it and recording the logs I noticed that I was testing on a google amp page. Somehow those search results are getting through when I'm sure they they did not used to previously on my old phone and android 9. This may be why I keep thinking that the proxy mode is not working as well as it used to. I'm seeing empty boxes I have to close etc...