macOS runs onboarding every time I update - and every time subsequently

Flip Phillips

New Member
Title says it all. When I update / self update, the AdGuard onboarding runs again. Even if I skip it, or, worse, go through it all the way, it re-runs itself on next reboot. The only way I've been able to prevent this (I haven't dug into the plist yet to see if there's a flag in there) is to use AppCleaner and delete all the related files (not just the app / reinstall) and reinstall.
 

zebrum

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
@Flip Phillips can you try to quit the app and remove plist file, please?

Code:
sudo rm /Users/jeroen/Library/Preferences/com.adguard.mac.adguard.plist
 

Flip Phillips

New Member
Turns out- the owner of the plist is `root` when the installer finishes running. It is the `$USER` before. This seems to be related to the Bartender problem as well-

```
~/L/Preferences > ls -l com.adguard.mac.adguard.plist
-rw------- 1 root wheel 169080 May 20 11:40 com.adguard.mac.adguard.plist

...

~/L/Preferences > sudo chown myusername com.adguard.mac.adguard.plist
```

fixes things it *appears*
 
Top